Publishing News | Events

New books from OICP lecturers

This month sees publication of two new books, by Sarah Franklin and Craig Taylor. 

Sarah Franklin returns with How to Belong, a compelling tale of lost connection and finding a home, perfect for fans of Tessa Hadley and Maggie O'Farrell. 
Sarah grew up in rural Gloucestershire and has lived in Austria, Germany, the USA and Ireland. She lectures in publishing at OICP and has written for the GuardianIrish Times, Psychologies magazine and The Pool.

A unique dystopia, a remarkable psychological fantasy, an absurdist satire, Craig Taylor's City Of O is republished for the first time since 2005 in a totally new edition. Craig has been nominated for the British Science Fiction book of the year, edits fiction for a well-known publisher and is a lecturer at OICP. He is the author of the cult Kev King novels - described as ‘brilliant’ by the Sun and ‘horribly entertaining’ by the Mirror - which have been optioned for TV.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 23 Nov 2020 around 2pm

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

OICP student takes part in BBC Children in Need

Media Journalism and Publishing student Rosie (aka Roisin) Clear has been selected to take part in the Rickshaw Challenge for BBC's Children in Need to raise money for charity.

The challenge which is now in its 10th year, takes place at Goodwood in West Sussex from Friday 6 November. The team will cover a variety of terrains to reach their target each day, in time for a live broadcast on The One Show each night at 7.00pm.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 30 Oct 2020 around 3pm

Filed Under Events | Publishing

News from OICP

Here is a picture of colleagues in a team meeting this week via Zoom. Our office closed on Tuesday morning (24 March 2020) and we are all working remotely. Although we have had to suspend our programme of events, we are actively working on the remaining classes for this year, which have moved online. We send our good wishes to our network of alumni and friends around the world, and do get in touch if you are interested in studying with us next year – whether on campus or through distance learning.

We send our solidarity and best wishes to everyone around the world in these difficult times.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 27 Mar 2020 around 10am

Filed Under Research | Events | Oxford Publishing & Digital Media | Postgraduate | Publishing | Book History

Publishing in Europe and China - Symposium 2021

11 and 12 March 2021

Join us in the splendid setting of Goodenough College, London, to explore the world of publishing in Europe and China. There is coverage of trade, scholarly and educational publishing with plenary sessions, panel discussions, breakout sessions and networking opportunities.

The event begins on the Thursday evening with a formal dinner held at the College, and an after-dinner keynote address from Richard Charkin, President of Bloomsbury China.

The programme on the following day will consist of keynotes and panel sessions covering publishing and technology trends and social media, copyright and licensing.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 21 Jan 2020 around 3pm

Filed Under Events | Publishing

2019 British Book Design and Production Awards

Marylebone’s The Landmark hotel was host to the 2019 British Book Design and Production Awards on 21 November 2019, featuring the best books British publishing has to offer competing in such categories as Brand/Series Identity, Best Jacket/Cover Design, Best Student Book and the coveted Book of the Year.

The awards were hosted by Konnie Huq, British television presenter and writer whose first book, Cookie and the Most Annoying Boy in the World, is set for publication in February 2020.

Boss Print stole the show with photography book North Northwest, winning both Best British Book and Book of the Year. The judges commented that 'Even amongst the highest of competition, this entry captivated us. There was not one element that did not fit in. The book was seamlessly put together as a whole with beautiful production and design, making it a truly worthy winner.'

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 26 Nov 2019 around 9am

Filed Under Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Win for OICP graduate at Publishers’ Publicity Circle Awards

The Publishers’ Publicity Circle (PPC) awards took place in London on 11 February 2019, presented to the publicists responsible for the best PR campaigns from 2018. The winner of the children’s book award, sponsored by the Daily Mail, was Kirsten Cozens of Walker Books, for her campaign for Julian is a Mermaid by Jessica Love. Kirsten graduated from the BA Publishing Media degree in 2016.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 14 Feb 2019 around 10am

Filed Under Events | Publishing

British Book Design and Production Awards 2018

The 2018 British Book Design and Production Awards were held at the Montcalm Marble Arch Hotel in London on 22 November 2018. The evening was hosted by author and comedian Adam Kay, who rose to fame with his book This is going to Hurt, which recounts his career as a junior doctor. An instant Sunday Times bestseller with over 700,000 copies sold, it has won numerous literary prizes. Adam entertained guests throughout the evening and presented a total of 19 awards.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 27 Nov 2018 around 11am

Filed Under Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

OICP at the London Book Fair 2018

Students and staff from the Centre (OICP) were busy throughout the London Book Fair (LBF), held at Olympia from the 10th to 12th April 2018. We had our own stand from which we marketed our degree programmes, staff publications, research and consultancy, and various events including our July summer school. Over 50 students helped out with the running of the Fair, both in the seminar rooms and at the special forums, including the Author HQ, Poets’ Corner, English PEN Literary Salon, and CrossMedia Theatre.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 30 Apr 2018 around 2pm

Filed Under Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Field trip to Bologna

Each year students from the Oxford International Centre for Publishing visit the Bologna Children’s Book Fair, meeting professionals from a variety of publishing houses. This year we took 30 postgraduate students and they had appointments with Abrams Books, Bloomsbury, b small, the Felicity Bryan agency, Fourth Wall, Giunti, HarperCollins, Nosy Crow,  Oxford University Press, Raintree, Salariya Book Company, Sweet Cherry Publishing, Thames & Hudson, and Usborne. Trends observed at the fair included interest in children's non-fiction and titles featuring strong girls.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 17 Apr 2018 around 9am

Filed Under Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Success for OICP students at national awards

The Association for Publishing Education (APE), Dissertation and Project Awards 2018 accepted admissions from all the universities that teach publishing in the UK. The winners were announced at the London Book Fair International Excellence Awards on Tuesday 10 April 2018 at Olympia.

Publishing students from Oxford Brookes, both postgraduate and undergraduate, won three out of the four available prizes, repeating the success in 2017 when three out of the four awards went to students from Oxford Brookes.

The 2018 Association for Publishing Education (APE) Dissertation and Project Prizes

Best MA Dissertation: Lucie DuCarre, Kingston University

Best BA Dissertation: Annabelle Rose, Oxford Brookes University

Best MA/BA Practical Project Prize: Freya Maenhout, Oxford Brookes University

Best Overall Project: Freya Maenhout, Oxford Brookes University

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 12 Apr 2018 around 3pm

Filed Under Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Page 1 of 5 pages

 1 2 3 >  Last »