Publishing News | Research

New books from OICP lecturers

This month sees publication of two new books, by Sarah Franklin and Craig Taylor. 

Sarah Franklin returns with How to Belong, a compelling tale of lost connection and finding a home, perfect for fans of Tessa Hadley and Maggie O'Farrell. 
Sarah grew up in rural Gloucestershire and has lived in Austria, Germany, the USA and Ireland. She lectures in publishing at OICP and has written for the GuardianIrish Times, Psychologies magazine and The Pool.

A unique dystopia, a remarkable psychological fantasy, an absurdist satire, Craig Taylor's City Of O is republished for the first time since 2005 in a totally new edition. Craig has been nominated for the British Science Fiction book of the year, edits fiction for a well-known publisher and is a lecturer at OICP. He is the author of the cult Kev King novels - described as ‘brilliant’ by the Sun and ‘horribly entertaining’ by the Mirror - which have been optioned for TV.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 23 Nov 2020 around 2pm

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Kelvin Smith, formerly of OICP, dies

We are sad to record the death of Kelvin Smith, a much loved and respected colleague in the Oxford International Centre for Publishing.

His friend Adrian Bullock writes of Kelvin:

Kelvin Smith, one-time lecturer, died unexpectedly on 15 October 2020, bringing to an end a friendship which he and I had maintained long after he had retired and gone to live in Suffolk with his wife Julie.

...

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 29 Oct 2020 around 11am

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

International seminar on publishing studies

Angus Phillips, Director of the International Centre for Publishing, was a speaker at a webinar on 12 October 2020 organized by Polimedia (State Polytechnic of Creative Media) in Jakarta, Indonesia. Over 250 people attended the webinar and the other speakers were Dr Purnomo Ananto, Director of Polimedia; Rosidayati Rozalina, President of the Indonesian Publishers Association (IKAPI); and Zalzulifa, Head of the Assessment Centre at Polimedia.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 12 Oct 2020 around 3pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Angus Phillips interviewed by BBC World News

Angus Phillips, the Director of OICP, was interviewed on BBC World News on Thursday 1 October. The presenter Karin Gianonne @KarinBBC asked him questions about Super Thursday, when hundreds of new trade hardbacks were published in the UK

@BBCWorld @angusph 

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 02 Oct 2020 around 8am

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Senior Lecturer in Journalism - job vacancy

This is an exciting opportunity to come and work at the Oxford International Centre for Publishing, delivering courses at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels to a highly international class of students. Ranked first in the 2020 Guardian league table for Journalism, Publishing and Public Relations, the Centre has an excellent reputation. We are looking for a lecturer in journalism to co-ordinate the team delivering our new Master’s in Journalism, launching in September 2020. This post would suit an academic working in the field of journalism or a professional who would like to move into teaching and research.

For more details visit here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 25 Jun 2020 around 11am

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Research success for OICP’s Caroline Davis

Dr Caroline Davis from OICP has been awarded a prestigious Mid-Career Fellowship by the British Academy, enabling her to work on the project, Book Empires: British Publishing in Africa, 1900-1965. The Mid-Career Fellowships are designed both to support outstanding individual researchers with excellent research proposals, and to promote public understanding and engagement with humanities and social sciences.Awards are judged on the excellence of the research proposed and on the capacity of the applicant to communicate with a broad audience.

Caroline is the editor of the recently published volume Print Cultures (Red Globe Press). She is a senior lecturer at OICP, where she teaches print culture, book history and publishing studies. She is the author of Creating Postcolonial Literature: African Writers and British Publishers (Palgrave, 2013) and the co-editor of The Book in Africa: Critical Debates (Palgrave, 2015). Her recent articles have appeared in the Journal of Southern African Studies, The Journal of Commonwealth Literature, The Journal of Postcolonial Writing and Book History. She previously worked at Oxford University Press and the Oxford University Centre for Humanities Computing.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 29 Apr 2020 around 1pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Second doctorate for OICP’s Miriam Johnson

In April 2020 Miriam Johnson passed her viva for a second doctorate, in the field of publishing studies, following her earlier doctoral degree in creative writing.

Dr Dr Miriam Johnson is a Senior Lecturer in Publishing and Subject Coordinator for the MA in Publishing Media and the MA in Digital Publishing at Oxford Brookes University. Miriam’s professional career includes work as a secondhand and collectable bookseller, founder of The Istanbul Review, and working with Scottish PEN and Scottish Book Trust, as well as developing an immersive literature project in Edinburgh in conjunction with the Bridge Awards and Edinburgh UNESCO City of Literature (echoesofthecity.com). Her academic research blurs the lines between creative writing and publishing in digitally social settings. She is currently researching the relationship between social media platforms, the writers and communities they produce, and the traditional publishing industry – including the roles of gender, genre, and the power dynamics involved.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 29 Apr 2020 around 1pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Success for OICP student at national awards

The Association for Publishing Education (APE), Dissertation and Project Awards 2020 accepted admissions from all the universities that teach publishing in the UK. The winners were announced this April.

We congratulate Marie-Louise Patton (MA Publishing Media) for winning the award for the best project: titled A study of how Instagram enables independent magazines to reach niche markets as demonstrated by a new travel magazine concept, Bug.

In 2018 publishing students from Oxford Brookes, both postgraduate and undergraduate, won three out of the four available prizes, repeating the success in 2017 when three out of the four awards went to students from Oxford Brookes.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 17 Apr 2020 around 11am

Filed Under Research | Oxford Publishing & Digital Media | Postgraduate | Publishing

News from OICP

Here is a picture of colleagues in a team meeting this week via Zoom. Our office closed on Tuesday morning (24 March 2020) and we are all working remotely. Although we have had to suspend our programme of events, we are actively working on the remaining classes for this year, which have moved online. We send our good wishes to our network of alumni and friends around the world, and do get in touch if you are interested in studying with us next year – whether on campus or through distance learning.

We send our solidarity and best wishes to everyone around the world in these difficult times.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 27 Mar 2020 around 10am

Filed Under Research | Events | Oxford Publishing & Digital Media | Postgraduate | Publishing | Book History

What is a Book? - paper published

A new paper, 'What is a Book?', has recently been published in the journal Publishing Research Quarterly, co-authored by Angus Phillips, Director of the Oxford International Centre for Publishing.

Miha Kovac, Angus Phillips, Adriaan van der Weel and Ruediger Wischenbart call for a fundamental reconsideration of how we define a book in relation to other book-like objects and text forms. The approach in the article is iterative, moving closer towards a definition of the book whilst acknowledging the arrival of offspring such as the ebook and audiobook.

You can read the article here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 12 Aug 2019 around 1pm

Filed Under Research | Publishing | Book History | European Publishing

Page 1 of 14 pages

 1 2 3 >  Last »