Publishing News | Publishing

Publishers’ Publicity Circle Awards 2020

The shortlists have been announced for @publicitycircle awards and in the category of Best Children’s and YA Celebrity Campaign, two @PubOxford alumni appear: Kirsten Cozens @KirstenBryony from Walker Books and Elaine Egan @ElaineEgan_ from Hachette Ireland, for their campaigns for My First Cook Book by David Atherton and Break the Mould by Sinead Burke.

Kirsten won a PPC award in 2019 and was shortlisted for a 2020 London Book Fair Trailblazer Award. Elaine also won a PPC award for her campaign on Lucy Vine's debut novel, Hot Mess.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 02 Feb 2021 around 11am

Filed Under Postgraduate | Publishing

What you’ll learn on the MA Journalism at Oxford Brookes

Thinking about a career in journalism? There are certain things - like a good knowledge of media law and ethics, multimedia skills and social media - you'll need. Here's everything you'll learn on the NCTJ-accredited MA Journalism at Oxford Brookes....

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 31 Jan 2021 around 10am

Filed Under Oxford Publishing & Digital Media | Publishing

Samantha Harman from OICP shares top tips on getting a job in journalism

Samantha Harman @PubOxford @Samantha_editor shares some tips on getting a job in journalism at Generation Tribe. She writes about how you get work experience, how you get bylines and grow your profile, what qualifications you need and how to cope with the stress. You can read the full article here

Samantha Harman has edited titles including the Oxford Mail and Bucks Free Press and leads the NCTJ-accredited MA Journalism here at the Oxford International Centre for Publishing.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 26 Jan 2021 around 9am

Filed Under Postgraduate | Publishing

Samantha Harman @PubOxford appears in Media Quotes of the Year 2020

Samantha Harman of OICP @Samantha_editor was quoted alongside fellow journalists Alan Rusbridger and Geordie Greig in InPublishing’s selection of the Media Quotes of the Year.

Writing about the online abuse of journalists, she said: ‘We’ve seen a toxic rhetoric emerge over the last couple of years that all journalists are “scum” and that it’s acceptable to hide behind the internet to say whatever you want to them. It reached a boiling point this year during coverage of the Black Lives Matter movement, with reporters having to deal with abhorrent, disgusting and racist comments on stories.’

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 22 Dec 2020 around 12pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Caroline Davis @PubOxford publishes new book

Dr Caroline Davis from OICP has published a new book with Cambridge University Press in their Elements series: African Literature and the CIA.

During the period of decolonization in Africa, the CIA subsidized a number of African authors, editors and publishers as part of its anti-communist covert propaganda strategy. Her new book unravels the hidden networks and associations underpinning African literary publishing in the 1960s; it investigates the success of the CIA in disrupting and infiltrating African literary magazines and publishing firms, and determines the extent to which new circuits of cultural and literary power emerged. Based on new archival evidence relating to the Transcription Centre, The Classic and The New African, it includes case studies of Wole Soyinka, Nat Nakasa and Bessie Head, which assess how their literary careers were influenced by these transnational literary institutions, and their response to these interventions.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 22 Dec 2020 around 12pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

New episode on audiobooks added to @PubOxford podcast

Richard Lennon, Publishing Director of Penguin Random House Audio @PRHAudio, is in conversation with Angus Phillips. Richard talks about trends in the UK audio market, some recent bestsellers, and the kind of projects that work well as audiobooks.

Other recent episodes cover children’s publishing, publishing in India, the motivations of book buyers, and magazine journalism.

You can find the podcast here

 

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 18 Dec 2020 around 9am

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Booker Winner interviewed by Sarah Franklin of @PubOxford

Douglas Stuart, author of Shuggie Bain which recently won the Booker Prize, featured in an Zoom event on Thursday 17 December 2020. He appeared in conversation with Sarah Franklin from OICP, author of the recently published How to Belong. This virtual event was part of a series organized by Blackwell’s.

@blackwellbooks

@SarahEFranklin

@Doug_D_Stuart

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 18 Dec 2020 around 9am

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Improve your skills and knowledge - @PubOxford courses

We are delighted to offer to industry professionals three MA Publishing modules, each of which can be taken as a standalone 12-week course from anywhere in the world. Study with us for continued professional development, or as a stepping-stone to the complete Master’s programme.

Modules Running: 24 January to 26 April 2021
• Sales and Marketing for Publishing
• International Management of Publishing and Rights
• Data-Driven Marketing and Publishing (this will be repeated over the summer semester 3 May - 1 August 2021)
Please email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) for more details on joining the Oxford International Centre for Publishing as an Associate Student.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 01 Dec 2020 around 5pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

NCTJ accreditation awarded for journalism programmes

We are delighted to announce that OICP's journalism programmes have been accredited by the NCTJ. This accreditation applies to the MA Journalism and the journalism pathway on the BA Media, Journalism and Publishing.  The award of accreditation recognizes quality training in journalism skills ready for a successful career in the industry.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 30 Nov 2020 around 12pm

Filed Under Research | Oxford Publishing & Digital Media | Postgraduate | Publishing

New books from OICP lecturers

This month sees publication of two new books, by Sarah Franklin and Craig Taylor. 

Sarah Franklin returns with How to Belong, a compelling tale of lost connection and finding a home, perfect for fans of Tessa Hadley and Maggie O'Farrell. 
Sarah grew up in rural Gloucestershire and has lived in Austria, Germany, the USA and Ireland. She lectures in publishing at OICP and has written for the GuardianIrish Times, Psychologies magazine and The Pool.

A unique dystopia, a remarkable psychological fantasy, an absurdist satire, Craig Taylor's City Of O is republished for the first time since 2005 in a totally new edition. Craig has been nominated for the British Science Fiction book of the year, edits fiction for a well-known publisher and is a lecturer at OICP. He is the author of the cult Kev King novels - described as ‘brilliant’ by the Sun and ‘horribly entertaining’ by the Mirror - which have been optioned for TV.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 23 Nov 2020 around 2pm

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

Page 1 of 43 pages

 1 2 3 >  Last »