Publishing News | Publishing

New books from OICP lecturers

This month sees publication of two new books, by Sarah Franklin and Craig Taylor. 

Sarah Franklin returns with How to Belong, a compelling tale of lost connection and finding a home, perfect for fans of Tessa Hadley and Maggie O'Farrell. 
Sarah grew up in rural Gloucestershire and has lived in Austria, Germany, the USA and Ireland. She lectures in publishing at OICP and has written for the GuardianIrish Times, Psychologies magazine and The Pool.

A unique dystopia, a remarkable psychological fantasy, an absurdist satire, Craig Taylor's City Of O is republished for the first time since 2005 in a totally new edition. Craig has been nominated for the British Science Fiction book of the year, edits fiction for a well-known publisher and is a lecturer at OICP. He is the author of the cult Kev King novels - described as ‘brilliant’ by the Sun and ‘horribly entertaining’ by the Mirror - which have been optioned for TV.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 23 Nov 2020 around 2pm

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

OICP student writes for Oxford Mail

MA Journalism student Rachel Hains has published an article in the Oxford Mail about parking at the John Radcliffe Hospital. She reveals that staff at the hospital are having to pay daily fines due to a backlog in applications for permits being processed. The article was published in the paper on Thursday 22 October 2020.

Oxford Mail

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 02 Nov 2020 around 5pm

Filed Under Postgraduate | Publishing

OICP student takes part in BBC Children in Need

Media Journalism and Publishing student Rosie (aka Roisin) Clear has been selected to take part in the Rickshaw Challenge for BBC's Children in Need to raise money for charity.

The challenge which is now in its 10th year, takes place at Goodwood in West Sussex from Friday 6 November. The team will cover a variety of terrains to reach their target each day, in time for a live broadcast on The One Show each night at 7.00pm.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 30 Oct 2020 around 3pm

Filed Under Events | Publishing

Kelvin Smith, formerly of OICP, dies

We are sad to record the death of Kelvin Smith, a much loved and respected colleague in the Oxford International Centre for Publishing.

His friend Adrian Bullock writes of Kelvin:

Kelvin Smith, one-time lecturer, died unexpectedly on 15 October 2020, bringing to an end a friendship which he and I had maintained long after he had retired and gone to live in Suffolk with his wife Julie.

...

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 29 Oct 2020 around 11am

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

International seminar on publishing studies

Angus Phillips, Director of the International Centre for Publishing, was a speaker at a webinar on 12 October 2020 organized by Polimedia (State Polytechnic of Creative Media) in Jakarta, Indonesia. Over 250 people attended the webinar and the other speakers were Dr Purnomo Ananto, Director of Polimedia; Rosidayati Rozalina, President of the Indonesian Publishers Association (IKAPI); and Zalzulifa, Head of the Assessment Centre at Polimedia.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 12 Oct 2020 around 3pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Angus Phillips interviewed by BBC World News

Angus Phillips, the Director of OICP, was interviewed on BBC World News on Thursday 1 October. The presenter Karin Gianonne @KarinBBC asked him questions about Super Thursday, when hundreds of new trade hardbacks were published in the UK

@BBCWorld @angusph 

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 02 Oct 2020 around 8am

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Samantha Harman joins OICP

Samantha Harman joins the Oxford International Centre for Publishing in November 2020 as Senior Lecturer in Journalism.

Samantha is an award-winning editor of newspapers, magazines and websites. Samantha worked her way from trainee to editor within six years of being in the industry. She was the first female editor of the Bucks Free Press in its 160-year history - a title named Newspaper of the Year under her editorship - and to date, is the youngest ever editor of the Oxford Mail and Oxford Times. Her specialism in the newsroom has been digital transformation. She continues to edit Oxfordshire Living magazine and is a contributor to its sister titles and other national publications. Samantha has tutored several trainee journalists through the NQJ senior exams and is passionate about diversity in the media. She has also spearheaded a campaign around the safety of journalists and continues her research in this area at Oxford Brookes, collaborating with the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 01 Oct 2020 around 8am

Filed Under Postgraduate | Publishing

Senior Lecturer in Journalism - job vacancy

This is an exciting opportunity to come and work at the Oxford International Centre for Publishing, delivering courses at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels to a highly international class of students. Ranked first in the 2020 Guardian league table for Journalism, Publishing and Public Relations, the Centre has an excellent reputation. We are looking for a lecturer in journalism to co-ordinate the team delivering our new Master’s in Journalism, launching in September 2020. This post would suit an academic working in the field of journalism or a professional who would like to move into teaching and research.

For more details visit here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 25 Jun 2020 around 11am

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Research success for OICP’s Caroline Davis

Dr Caroline Davis from OICP has been awarded a prestigious Mid-Career Fellowship by the British Academy, enabling her to work on the project, Book Empires: British Publishing in Africa, 1900-1965. The Mid-Career Fellowships are designed both to support outstanding individual researchers with excellent research proposals, and to promote public understanding and engagement with humanities and social sciences.Awards are judged on the excellence of the research proposed and on the capacity of the applicant to communicate with a broad audience.

Caroline is the editor of the recently published volume Print Cultures (Red Globe Press). She is a senior lecturer at OICP, where she teaches print culture, book history and publishing studies. She is the author of Creating Postcolonial Literature: African Writers and British Publishers (Palgrave, 2013) and the co-editor of The Book in Africa: Critical Debates (Palgrave, 2015). Her recent articles have appeared in the Journal of Southern African Studies, The Journal of Commonwealth Literature, The Journal of Postcolonial Writing and Book History. She previously worked at Oxford University Press and the Oxford University Centre for Humanities Computing.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 29 Apr 2020 around 1pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Second doctorate for OICP’s Miriam Johnson

In April 2020 Miriam Johnson passed her viva for a second doctorate, in the field of publishing studies, following her earlier doctoral degree in creative writing.

Dr Dr Miriam Johnson is a Senior Lecturer in Publishing and Subject Coordinator for the MA in Publishing Media and the MA in Digital Publishing at Oxford Brookes University. Miriam’s professional career includes work as a secondhand and collectable bookseller, founder of The Istanbul Review, and working with Scottish PEN and Scottish Book Trust, as well as developing an immersive literature project in Edinburgh in conjunction with the Bridge Awards and Edinburgh UNESCO City of Literature (echoesofthecity.com). Her academic research blurs the lines between creative writing and publishing in digitally social settings. She is currently researching the relationship between social media platforms, the writers and communities they produce, and the traditional publishing industry – including the roles of gender, genre, and the power dynamics involved.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 29 Apr 2020 around 1pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Page 1 of 42 pages

 1 2 3 >  Last »