Publishing News

Improve your skills and knowledge - @PubOxford courses

We are delighted to offer to industry professionals three MA Publishing modules, each of which can be taken as a standalone 12-week course from anywhere in the world. Study with us for continued professional development, or as a stepping-stone to the complete Master’s programme.

Modules Running: 24 January to 26 April 2021
• Sales and Marketing for Publishing
• International Management of Publishing and Rights
• Data-Driven Marketing and Publishing (this will be repeated over the summer semester 3 May - 1 August 2021)
Please email .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) for more details on joining the Oxford International Centre for Publishing as an Associate Student.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 01 Dec 2020 around 5pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

NCTJ accreditation awarded for journalism programmes

We are delighted to announce that OICP's journalism programmes have been accredited by the NCTJ. This accreditation applies to the MA Journalism and the journalism pathway on the BA Media, Journalism and Publishing.  The award of accreditation recognizes quality training in journalism skills ready for a successful career in the industry.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 30 Nov 2020 around 12pm

Filed Under Research | Oxford Publishing & Digital Media | Postgraduate | Publishing

New books from OICP lecturers

This month sees publication of two new books, by Sarah Franklin and Craig Taylor. 

Sarah Franklin returns with How to Belong, a compelling tale of lost connection and finding a home, perfect for fans of Tessa Hadley and Maggie O'Farrell. 
Sarah grew up in rural Gloucestershire and has lived in Austria, Germany, the USA and Ireland. She lectures in publishing at OICP and has written for the GuardianIrish Times, Psychologies magazine and The Pool.

A unique dystopia, a remarkable psychological fantasy, an absurdist satire, Craig Taylor's City Of O is republished for the first time since 2005 in a totally new edition. Craig has been nominated for the British Science Fiction book of the year, edits fiction for a well-known publisher and is a lecturer at OICP. He is the author of the cult Kev King novels - described as ‘brilliant’ by the Sun and ‘horribly entertaining’ by the Mirror - which have been optioned for TV.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 23 Nov 2020 around 2pm

Filed Under Research | Events | Postgraduate | Publishing

OICP student writes for Oxford Mail

MA Journalism student Rachel Hains has published an article in the Oxford Mail about parking at the John Radcliffe Hospital. She reveals that staff at the hospital are having to pay daily fines due to a backlog in applications for permits being processed. The article was published in the paper on Thursday 22 October 2020.

Oxford Mail

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 02 Nov 2020 around 5pm

Filed Under Postgraduate | Publishing

OICP student takes part in BBC Children in Need

Media Journalism and Publishing student Rosie (aka Roisin) Clear has been selected to take part in the Rickshaw Challenge for BBC's Children in Need to raise money for charity.

The challenge which is now in its 10th year, takes place at Goodwood in West Sussex from Friday 6 November. The team will cover a variety of terrains to reach their target each day, in time for a live broadcast on The One Show each night at 7.00pm.

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 30 Oct 2020 around 3pm

Filed Under Events | Publishing

Kelvin Smith, formerly of OICP, dies

We are sad to record the death of Kelvin Smith, a much loved and respected colleague in the Oxford International Centre for Publishing.

His friend Adrian Bullock writes of Kelvin:

Kelvin Smith, one-time lecturer, died unexpectedly on 15 October 2020, bringing to an end a friendship which he and I had maintained long after he had retired and gone to live in Suffolk with his wife Julie.

...

Full News item here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 29 Oct 2020 around 11am

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

International seminar on publishing studies

Angus Phillips, Director of the International Centre for Publishing, was a speaker at a webinar on 12 October 2020 organized by Polimedia (State Polytechnic of Creative Media) in Jakarta, Indonesia. Over 250 people attended the webinar and the other speakers were Dr Purnomo Ananto, Director of Polimedia; Rosidayati Rozalina, President of the Indonesian Publishers Association (IKAPI); and Zalzulifa, Head of the Assessment Centre at Polimedia.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 12 Oct 2020 around 3pm

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Angus Phillips interviewed by BBC World News

Angus Phillips, the Director of OICP, was interviewed on BBC World News on Thursday 1 October. The presenter Karin Gianonne @KarinBBC asked him questions about Super Thursday, when hundreds of new trade hardbacks were published in the UK

@BBCWorld @angusph 

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 02 Oct 2020 around 8am

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Samantha Harman joins OICP

Samantha Harman joins the Oxford International Centre for Publishing in November 2020 as Senior Lecturer in Journalism.

Samantha is an award-winning editor of newspapers, magazines and websites. Samantha worked her way from trainee to editor within six years of being in the industry. She was the first female editor of the Bucks Free Press in its 160-year history - a title named Newspaper of the Year under her editorship - and to date, is the youngest ever editor of the Oxford Mail and Oxford Times. Her specialism in the newsroom has been digital transformation. She continues to edit Oxfordshire Living magazine and is a contributor to its sister titles and other national publications. Samantha has tutored several trainee journalists through the NQJ senior exams and is passionate about diversity in the media. She has also spearheaded a campaign around the safety of journalists and continues her research in this area at Oxford Brookes, collaborating with the Department for Culture, Media and Sport.

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 01 Oct 2020 around 8am

Filed Under Postgraduate | Publishing

Senior Lecturer in Journalism - job vacancy

This is an exciting opportunity to come and work at the Oxford International Centre for Publishing, delivering courses at both undergraduate and postgraduate levels to a highly international class of students. Ranked first in the 2020 Guardian league table for Journalism, Publishing and Public Relations, the Centre has an excellent reputation. We are looking for a lecturer in journalism to co-ordinate the team delivering our new Master’s in Journalism, launching in September 2020. This post would suit an academic working in the field of journalism or a professional who would like to move into teaching and research.

For more details visit here

Posted by .(JavaScript must be enabled to view this email address) on 25 Jun 2020 around 11am

Filed Under Research | Postgraduate | Publishing

Page 1 of 53 pages

 1 2 3 >  Last »